Visualise

by mandaceehb

“How do you want to be remembered when you leave this world?” she asked.

The music flowed in the background, ringing softly in my ears, agitated and calming all at once.

I closed my eyes. My mind began to work, conjuring up images. Standing alone, with everyone I knew around me. But I could not speak to them. I could only hear what they said about me.

 

What did I want them to say about me?

 

Her voice tethered me to reality; imagined realities ran wild in my head. Dozens of scenes played, one after another.

How did I want to be remembered? What would I be remembered for when I departed this earth?

 

I realise that I’ve never really thought about that before.

 

She is right. It is pointless to lead a life which runs on its own. If we don’t take charge of our own lives, chase the dreams that are our own, the tens of years of our existence here has no meaning.

And once time is gone, it will never come back.

One, write down your goal.

Two, declare it to someone.

Three, believe, and take action.

 

Let’s make our one shot at life a meaningful one, and be remembered for good things.

And then, with what we’ve been given, give back to the world.

You’ve been truly inspiring. Thank you, Ms Aisyah.:)

