16 july- one day to closing

by mandaceehb

sitting in the turmoil of the cardboard playground alone and feeling strangely at peace. around me workers are drilling a deafening melody, egg cartons messy with painted hollows, recycled materials strewn all about. it has always been my most hated place but i see it was a blessing i was put here today, to find the quiet I haven’t known in a long while. steadying my mind for the many unknowns and the immensely different life that lies ahead without explicitly entertaining those thoughts, letting my inner child run free with this spread of art materials and questioning the existence of adult creativity- do i still have it in me? I find it again when I pick up my brush and the bottles of paint and get my hands dirty once more; it is therapeutic and the most silent my mind has been in a while.

